MA to MH

Posts about what EvilGrins has been or is up to!
EvilGrins
NoMoreSpam: Silver

MA to MH

Post by EvilGrins » Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:29 pm

Simply put, I've got a bunch of Monster Arena maps, some are great, some are basic, quite a few suck. Didn't make any of them but I got them.

How hard is it to convert an MA map to MonsterHunt? Is it as simple as just renaming the "MA" to "MH" or is there more to it than that?

Also, a few of the MA maps i've got weren't made so great. You kill the final monster (not a lot of exits on MA) and normally that ends the map but on these badly made ones nothing happens and you're basically stuck there until you open a menu for a new game.

I know some MH maps you kill the final monster, or a boss, and the map ends.

Keeping in mind I'm not a full fledged mapper, I'm just a decent editor, how do I setup a monster so that it is the trigger that ends the map?

Nelsona

Re: MA to MH

Post by Nelsona » Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:11 am

I don't see where is the problem if you have examples already done. Open a MA map in editor and look how is set.

EvilGrins

Post by EvilGrins » Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:48 pm

Nelsona wrote:I don't see where is the problem if you have examples already done. Open a MA map in editor and look how is set.
More than just about anybody else, I was hoping you'd respond to this. I've got a perfect example in mind... but I'm at work at the moment so I'll have to get back to you.

In the meantime, what's your opinion on this?
http://www.online-multigaming.com/e107_ ... 0#post_316

Anybody else feel free to chime in!

Nelsona

Post by Nelsona » Sun Aug 19, 2012 1:49 am

That example is just like my modifications for maps ported to MH, which are against racing behavior. More exactly player need to kill a boss or some monsters counted, not to act like a chiken runing to end map. I'm almost always using this technology.